|
I received email a few days ago about a Vonage IPO happening, and it said I could participate in the IPO since I'm a customer. Initially, I stated in this post that this was a phishing scam. However, I retract that claim, and I no longer believe it to be a scam. The confusion was over their dumb interface which prompted you to log in if you were an existing customer (presumably an existing customer of Vonage, which I am). But the authentication information is different for the vonageipo.com website, so you log in with your valid vonage.com info but it gives you an error. Try again with valid info, still get an error. Classic phishing behavior. I don't know if they added text later (this was confusing enough that it was a topic on slashdot earlier today) or what, but I did the new sign-up (shouldn't everyone be a new sign-up, then? why offer "new users" vs. "existing users"? how dumb is that?) and it found my info based only on my account id. So there you have it. Vonage is indeed doing some sort of IPO participation for existing customers, and the url is www.vonageipo.com. It's just a sucky interface that is liable to confuse you. |


